frenchfoodiemovieclub
Fabulous food blogger and savvy business woman, Ketty, of French Foodie in Dublin [FFID] brings us a new night out with a twist, the Foodie Movie Club. The idea is that each month she chooses a different food themed movie screened in the private cinema in Brooks Hotel. I attended her last screening of Julie & Julia which proved so popular, I think she had to put on four separate screenings. It is the movie that inspired me to start blogging. You can read my review of the movie here. I also love Meryl Streep’s performance as Julia Child, an over-the-top, eccentric and exuberant chef and author of the best-selling cookbook Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

After popcorn and the movie, we headed en masse [well there were around 20 or more of us] around the corner to French restaurant, La Maison, on Castle Market. Through it’s red curtains and up the stairs to a private dining room where we dined on steaming pots of the most delicious French classic Boeuf Bourguignon. I had come on my own but quickly made friends with a fellow blogger, the lovely Marta of Cook It, Eat It, Love It. She has recently relocated to Dublin from Galway. The movie was a real talking point as was the luscious Boeuf Bourguignon complete with puff pastry surround which we demolished. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and I ended up staying way longer than I thought I would as I was enjoying myself. We happily ate and talked and laughed. I had to tear myself away reluctantly as I had work in the morning.

As Ketty says “It’s more than just watching a film, it’s about meeting people, enjoying food and building a community of those with a shared love of food and film.” Judging from the success of the night I went, it’s a concept that clearly works. I would heartily recommend it as a fun night out and going alone ensures you make some new friends.

This month FFID has selected the movie Ratatouille, the story of a little rat who dreams of becoming a French chef in Paris. The movie will be followed by an authentic ratatouille dish in French restaurant La Maison. There are two screenings on the 23rd and 28th of April – check out her website www.frenchfoodieindublin.com for further details and to make a booking.

