The weather was fantastic for the weekend – nothing but blue skies and I definitely made the most of it spending most of enjoying the outdoors hence the farmers tan I am currently sporting.

Breathe Expo
yoga-outside_large
On Saturday, I attended Breathe Expo, the yoga and green living expo – a day full of yoga, lectures and healthy food. It was €15 for the day and most of the classes and lectures were complimentary. I started the day with the Vinyasa Flow class given by Deirdre Hughes, a flowing energizing sequence designed to wake you up, get your body moving and ready to take on your day. It was the perfect start. The expo was held in Wesley House in Leeson Park beside the Methodist Church. The sun was shining and everyone was in a good mood. Some of the workshops were held outside. After my yoga, I attended the Mindfulness lecture, ‘Arriving in Now – The Way to Mindfulness’ with Mari Kennedy. Mari told us about her own experiences and how Mindfulness helped her deal with her own personal crisis. We also practised some mindfulness techniques. It was an interesting lecture and gave an insight into mindfulness. I had booked into one of the master workshops scheduled at 2pm with Kanta Barrios called ‘Learn to love Backbends’. I was looking forward to it because it was outdoors and I have always found backbends the most challenging aspect of my practice. In the meantime I browsed the stalls and had some lunch from the Happy Pear sitting outside soaking up the sunshine. Unfortunately the workshop was cancelled due to lack of attendance – only three people booked in so I got a refund. I was a little disappointed but decided to round the day off with Hatha Yoga given by Sylvia Ferguson. It was the perfect end to a perfect day and I’ll definitely be back next year.

Bark in the Park
bark
The first bark in the park was held in St. Anne’s Park on Sunday. Bark in the Park is a series of sponsored dog walks that take place in parks around Dublin over the Summer. It is 4km so nice and easy. I was a little nervous as Baxter has certain issues with other dogs and people and loud noises but he was as good as gold and I was a proud mummy. As well as the actual walk, each event will include a raffle, music, goody bags (sponsored by Maxi Zoo) and prizes for the dog with the Best Bark, Shiniest Coat, Happiest Smile and Waggiest Tail. All funds raised go towards the work of The Irish Blue Cross animal welfare charity so it’s also a good cause. We were blessed with the weather and the park was jammed with dogs of all shapes and sizes. The walk was short enough and we stayed around enjoying the sunshine for the raffle and prize-giving. Check out the website to see if there is a walk near you. It’s all for a good cause.

baxter

