It’s friday again and the long weekend, time to lift anchor and sail away. One of my favourite memories is sailing in the Whitsundays while Enya’s Orinoco Flow plays in the background. Would love to be back there – it’s been a long month. I’ve been feeling so tired this week. Am hoping a bit of time on the river and some fresh country air will help my energy levels. You can’t beat being near the water for its calming effects. Wishing you all a happy bank holiday weekend where all your troubles sail on by.

Happy Flyday!

“I keep sailing on in this middle passage. I am sailing into the wind and the dark. But I am doing my best to keep my boat steady and my sails full.” [Arthur Ashe]

“I love cities that are on the water. I love the water element, specifically the sea. I grew up on the sea and I grew up sailing – I love sailing – and the presence of the sea gives the air and the light a very special quality that I absolutely adore.” [Connie Nielsen]

“The effect of sailing is produced by a judicious arrangement of the sails to the direction of the wind.” [William Falconer]

“It is not the ship so much as the skillful sailing that assures the prosperous voyage.” [George William Curtis]

“What can we gain by sailing to the moon if we are not able to cross the abyss that separates us from ourselves? This is the most important of all voyages of discovery, and without it, all the rest are not only useless, but disastrous…” [Thomas Merton]

“I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving – we must sail sometimes with the wind and sometimes against it – but we must sail, and not drift, nor lie at anchor.” [Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr]

“No pessimist ever discovered the secrets of the stars, or sailed to an uncharted land, or opened a new heaven to the human spirit.” [Helen Keller]

“The days pass happily with me wherever my ship sails.” [Joshua Slocum]

“I don’t worry about the storms, I am learning to sail my own ship.” [Louisa May Alcott]

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” [Mark Twain]

