Little Women by Louisa May Alcott was one of those books that every little girl has read and wanted to be Jo with her wild, carefree nature so the chance to see it on stage was one not to be missed. I think the hopeful writer in me saw a little of myself in Jo. It was so popular playing to sold out audiences night after night that the Gate extended the run. I went on a Friday night with my mum who I had pre-warned that the play was sad – bring tissues but I think I may have overdone it with the “one of them dies” so much so that neither of us found that particular scene emotional! This is in my view where the play fell down Beth was so much in the background that the audience never really grew attached. The story was well thought out and flowed well and the scene changes were handled well. I did find the main character Jo a little irritating and it was a little hard to get used to the American accents. We are introduced to the four March sisters – the beautiful Meg, the good Beth, the writer Jo and the precocious Amy and we follow them as time passes and they grow up and grow apart in the process. Of course, the story ends happily ever after for all and it really was the perfect play for Christmas time and to lift the January blues.

